Course Switch: From Law to Primary School Teaching with QTS

22nd January 2016

I’d first like to give a little background information on how I arrived at this point. If you wish to read solely about the process of my transfer, please feel free to skip to paragraph six. However, I feel reading from the beginning will give you a better insight into how I ended up in the position I am today.

After truly loving Law as one of my choices at A-Level and having considered it before, I chose to apply to University for a Law LLB course in 2015. I applied, and got offers from the University of Leeds (AAA), University of Birmingham (AAA), Oxford Brookes (AAB), University of Exeter (AAB), and Birmingham City University (BBC).

BCU had made me an unconditional offer, and as such this went down as my insurance. As I had hoped to achieve AAA, I put down University of Birmingham as my first choice. I loved the University, and the look of it, as well as the accommodation, and adored the city itself. My predicted grades were AAB which was very generous considering at AS level I only achieved BCDDD (as I had taken five). However, the teachers were made aware that I was doing resits for all but a couple of my AS levels as I was unhappy with what I got, and was eager to improve.

Unfortunately, the pressure and workload of 12 exams proved too much and I finished my time at college with BBD. I still managed to get an offer from BCU-I think most likely due to me achieving a C in my EPQ (which was also law related)-so I began my course in September of 2015 at BCU, and moved into Oscott Gardens (BCU accommodation). Originally, I was given an offer of accommodation for a building which included having shared bathrooms; of all the things at university that may come along, that was one thing I was not comfortable with due to being very ‘precise’ shall we say, about hygiene. But, I rang the Accommodation Office and spoke to somebody who said they may be able to find out if anybody had turned down an accommodation offer at one of the other en-suite buildings. I thought this was probably unlikely but it is always worth an ask. They got back to me on the same day to say that they had found me a place, which was a huge relief to say the least.

I began my course and at first was enjoying it, I continued to work at the seminars and go through my notes and the textbooks after my day at University. However, the novelty of different work soon wore off, and I began to realise that much of what I was studying was similar to what I had done at A-level and it just was not grabbing my attention at all. I began to get less and less motivated and more and more disconnected with my course. Even before I had applied for Law, I had considered teaching as a potential career, however I spoke to the career advice at my college and was essentially put off it by how difficult he was making it sound, and the things he was telling me unfortunately. I was torn by the usual predicament of having a job for money, or a job doing something that I enjoyed. Law is arguably an incredibly hard industry to get into, and that led me to make my decision to continue with Law.

Around Christmas time I began to think more about potentially switching my course, and emailed the course leader for Primary Education with QTS about the potential of switching. She added into the email the Admissions Officer who gave me all the information I needed, and what I would need to do. I contacted my personal tutor to let them know what was going on, and made a list of all the things I needed to do. I had to give a statement as to why I wanted to switch to that specific course, which I did. In a reply a few days later, I was told that I had gotten an interview with the university, and that I needed to carry out two weeks of work experience to be able to have a successful interview; he also sent me a lot of information about what to expect on the day of the interview. I was told that the two offices for both law and education were communicating with each other about my transfer and that it should not be a problem, should I pass the interview stage.

I personally up to this point found my university to be very helpful and supportive of my desire to switch course, and all the information that they provided me with and assistance I needed, or might have needed. I was very grateful for this, as by this point I had certainly decided Law wasn’t what I wanted to do anymore. However, I stuck to keeping up with my coursework for Law just in case I didn’t get a place on the teaching course. Had that been the case, I would have continued with Law, as next years modules would be down to me to choose, and most of the material I would not have studied before.

All in all, I would recommend a switch to anyone if you’re not enjoying your course. It can be helpful to decide this as soon as possible, but it is not impossible, nor is it too difficult to switch your course providing the university is accommodating and has the space for you to move. You should be aware however that it would be a good idea to check for courses that are similar in the grades necessary for your current course should you wish to switch. Universities tend to take a dim view on you getting onto a course with one set of grades, and then applying for a transfer to an oversubscribed course with higher grades than you have. However, I am unaware of how different universities deal with that kind of thing, and as it is something I have not experienced, I could not fairly or knowledgably comment on that.

Should you wish to continue reading (and I sincerely hope you do), the following posts will tackle my pre-interview work experience in a primary school-including how I managed to get my work experience, what I was doing whilst I was there, and many more stages of my Primary Education with QTS application, tests, and interview. So if you’re curious about the process, or are just looking for what to expect, I welcome you to continue to follow me on my journey.

2

One thought on “Course Switch: From Law to Primary School Teaching with QTS

Leave a Reply

