My First Placement

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 12.35.52

I am fast approaching the end of my first placement, and I couldn’t be more devastated. I have adored every minute and I could not have asked for a better class, class teacher, or partner to be on my placement with.

The school itself is a Church of England school and it is heartwarming to see so many children getting involved-including those from different faiths. I couldn’t be more pleased to see that none of the parents excluded their children from the RE or worship lessons, it really gave the school a unified, diverse feel. The behaviour of the children is impeccable, and the staff are fantastic. My first impression of the headteacher really set the tone for my whole placement, never before have I seen such an active role being taken, even down to menial tasks such as photocopying. I sense genuine passion from the headteacher and being a part of the school for two months made it clear to me that this filtered down to all members of staff. I also have to commend the teaching assistants, the work they do goes above and beyond any other assistants I have seen-they are truly invaluable to the school and their classes.

As for the other student I was on my placement with, I couldn’t have wished for better. It is so lovely to feel so comfortable in a school with a person just as eager as you are to do the best for the children and to bounce creative ideas off. We discussed everything from the education system, politics, Pinterest, and our love for what we are going into. Having somebody beside you to split the workload, offer help any and every time and to be happy to do the same for them is really great, especially on your first placement.

The children come from a variety of different backgrounds and I feel privileged to have been a part of their education even if only for a short time. Their personalities are absolutely at their peak and no two children are the same. If I could give any advice with regards to the children it would definitely be to talk with them and really get to know them-this helps when it comes to guiding their behaviour, knowing how to engage them in class, and where to place them in mixed ability groups to benefit everybody.

My placement has taught me a lot about different children, my opinions on the education system, what to expect from a great school, and most importantly myself. I have found what I am supposed to be doing, and I have found my purpose. If you have read my previous posts you will see that I have recently rejoined my long desired path of teaching, and following my heart was the best thing I have ever done. I could never imagine loving or finding another job as much as I do this one. I’ll be honest when I’m lying in my warm, comfy bed I remember how much I hate early mornings, but as soon as I’m on my way to school I am filled with nothing but excitement and positivity thinking of what the day will bring.

If you have any feelings/stories from your own placement or teaching experience or have any questions please feel free to message me privately or comment. Feel free to follow my blog, and my various social media accounts: TES, Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest.

In my next post I will be discussing cheap and easy gifts to make or buy for your 30 surrogate children for the end of the year, and gifts for teachers/teaching assistants as a thank you (if you’re a student teacher).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

